Flashback: January 2009

A flashback to what I was reading in January 2009:

The 2009 Printz Award and Honor Books! Because I was on the committee, and reading and rereading a ton of books, and then the committee met at Midwinter and the rest is history.

The booksJellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, the 2009 Printz Award winner;

and the four Printz Honor books, 

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II: The Kingdom on the Waves by M.T. Anderson; 

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart;

Nation by Terry Pratchett; and

Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan.

Being on the committee was one of the best professional experiences I’ve ever had.

So, now looking back from 2014 — what did you think of the 2009 winners at the time? What do you think now?

2 thoughts on “Flashback: January 2009

  1. So impressed by the 2009 list. I loved Octavian Nothing and Frankie at the time, and were a little miffed when they didn’t win. Finally read Jellicoe Road last year and it’s now one of my all-time favorites.

    Like

    1. Thanks! One of the things I’ve enjoyed is seeing the love for the Jellicoe Road. At the time, there was very much a “what? I never heard of it” reaction, and seeing in the following years people read it and tell others they have to read it has been fun.

      Like

Leave a comment