Excellence In Nonfiction

I am on the current committee for YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults. Over the next few weeks, I will be posting about this award.

What is this award? “The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a November 1 – October 31 publishing year. The award winner will be announced annually at the ALA Midwinter Meeting Youth Media Awards, with a shortlist of up to five titles named the first week of December. The award will be presented at ALA Annual Conference.” (This is from the YALSA website; at the moment, the award is being presented at the ALA Midwinter Meeting, not at Annual.)

My post about the 2011 Winners and the Official Nomination List. My post on the 2010 Shortlist.

Next week: Definition!

2 thoughts on “Excellence In Nonfiction

  1. Are we allowed to lobby for titles? I would really like to see THE REAL BENEDICT ARNOLD, SUGAR CHANGED THE WORLD, and AMELIA LOST on the shortlist! 🙂


  2. And so the lobbying begins! I will be posting the criteria and the nomination form to encourage people nominating their favorite titles.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s